• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

QuickSource provides a single-source solution to easily import, compare, and manage data from multiple, credible sources in every report. See what the next game-changer is really all about.

I Knew This Would Happen!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lawrence R.

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
South Carolina
After using Wintotal now for several years, I finally couldn't afford to renew my service. I didn't renew my membership, but have continued using the software.

I haven't had a single problem since shortly after installing the software back in 2003 or 4.

Of course, a few months after deciding not to renew, the software won't even open now.

Of course. at any rate, I though I would check here to see if anyone had this problem, or knows how to trouble shoot it through one of the utility programs or something.

Thanks!
 

Tom Woolford

Elite Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
Try going to the tech support assistant and re registering the system files.
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
That's cheaper then $1000 for starting over with another software.
 

TJSum

Elite Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Maryland
You will have to fork over the moula one way or the other to access the new fannie mae form coming out...
 

Tom Woolford

Elite Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
Since you are in desperation mode, try downloading the current version:

http://www.alamode.com/auroraship


And install OVER your existing version. I don't know if it will work, and you probably ought to have at least minimal support, but its worth a shot to get back up.
 

Riick

Elite Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2007
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Delaware
After using Wintotal now for several years, I finally couldn't afford to renew my service. I didn't renew my membership, but have continued using the software.

I haven't had a single problem since shortly after installing the software back in 2003 or 4.

Of course, a few months after deciding not to renew, the software won't even open now.

Of course. at any rate, I though I would check here to see if anyone had this problem, or knows how to trouble shoot it through one of the utility programs or something.

Thanks!
IF (big IF) you have the original installation disks or files
(1) I've had luck (with other programs) in un-installing program,
(FIRST... back up your data files, boilerplates, and skeletons!)
(2) Now run a cleaner on the registry so program is really really un-installed. (( freebie is ccleaner.exe - google it and get a copy ))
(3) Restart computer
(4) Re-install the program. Should be working fine at that point,
(5) Now, put your data files, boilerplates, and skeletons back where they belong and you should be good to go
(6) If not take sledge hammer to desk and chair ((... computer probably still valuable)).
 

Couch Potato

Elite Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Seems to me you couldn't afford not to renew.
 

Mr Rex

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Use system restore and go back in time to a point when it still worked.
 

Lawrence R.

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
South Carolina
Seems to me you couldn't afford not to renew.

I do about 35 appraisals a year, TOPS. Lat year was about half that. It really was just a matter of saving the money.

As I said, it had worked just fine without one problem for several years, until I quit paying for the subscription.

My cynicism agrees with you though, CP..I should have know that shortly after sending them my money the software would mysteriously develop "problems". I wish they would just come out and say if you don't pay for support, you can't use the program.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks