• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

I need help with the certification test

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScottPAG

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama
I am a trainee appraiser and new to this forum. I am about to sit for my certification test. Here's my problem. I am strictly a SFR appraiser and very rarely will have to even attempt the income approach. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I need to study? (I live in Alabama if that makes a difference) Thanks.

ZZGAMAZZ

Professional Status
State
California
Hone up on your math by determining the ratio of Bama football victories over LSU during the past decade...and that should also be good practice for data concerning declining markets (sorry but I couldn't help it being a former Tiger)...

ScottPAG

Freshman Member
Professional Status
State
Alabama
I don't mind. I am an Auburn grad.

Michigan CG

Staff member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Michigan
From what I hear the new test is a lot harder than the old one and you need to know as much as possible. So you need to learn about GRMs and 2-4 family properties. There are books on small residential appraising, I would start with the Appraisal Institute in that they have excellent publications. You might also want to take a class.

www.appraisalinstitute.com

If you e-mail me I will give your name to an appraiser I know who took the new test. Two more I know are taking the test in late July.

Blueprint

Professional Status
State
Oregon