• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Memory card speed compact flash

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ted Martin

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
I was noticing on the Tiger Direct site Compact Flash cards of the same size which were suppose to be faster and naturally cost more money. Has anyone ever tried the faster cards and is it worth the extra money to get the faster cards?
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
What is supposed to be faster? The download time to your computer, or the memory speed of the camera for drive by shootings. 8) Seem to me that both would be somewhat limited by the hardware. Just axing, 'cause I dunno.
 

Tim Hicks (Texas)

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
I don't understand. The compact flash card is relatively quick. It loads the photos within seconds and 50+ photos within a minute. It also "copies the jpg" in the camera in 1 second. Why would you need it faster? Maybe you need to upgrade your camera or computer instead of the compact flash.
 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Believe that it speeds up the re-cycle time, allowing more piccies to be taken in a shorter time ..
 

Neil (Texas)

Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Texas
Just purchased one of the new "faster cards." No noticiable difference except that as Airphoto pointed out the card allows for faster sequential shooting. Cost is the the same as the so called slower card, at CompUSA.
 

Ted Martin

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
I'm inclined to think that the recyle time between pictures might improve. I've got the DC5000 and that 1 second lag between pushing the button and actually taking the picture drive me nuts.
 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
ksa ..

That's not the lag that's affected .. the lag is atwixt actually taking the piccie and being ready to take the next one. Time savings is in the time it takes to record the prior picture so that the camera's recycled and ready to read in the next one ..
 

Ted Martin

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
I think we were talking about the same lag. I don't think there is much that can be done about the 1 second lag between pushing the button and actually taking the picture that seems to be a "feature" of the DC5000. We've got two of them and they both act the same way. I don't remember our DC40's doing this.
 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Don't recall it being that obvious a lag on the DC40 .. DC120 had a fairly significant lag, as does the DX3900 ..
 

Ted Martin

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
IS the DX3900 a compact flash camara? I wonder if the lag is a function of the type of memory card?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks