• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Question about your State Appraisal Board?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ray Miller

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
What do you think of your state appraisal board????

Do you think that act fairly in all matters????

Do you think the members of your appraisal board understand USPAP?

Do you think you would receive a fair hearing if you were brought before your board??

c w d

Professional Status
General Public
State
Florida
1) I have no real experience with my AB. However, from the one experience we had with a representative of the AB we found that they tried to enforce advertisement rules without fully knowing the how to apply their own rules. When questioned about it they admitted the situation was a "grey area" but still was all to keen to threaten action.

2) No

3) They don't fully understand their own rules. How could they fully understand USPAP?

4) I don't know.

leelansford

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Illinois
What do you think of your state appraisal board????

My Response: Positive! I know them to be fair, competent and ethical.

Do you think that act fairly in all matters????

My Response: I believe they act with consideration and understanding of the USPAP, "The IL R.E. Appraiser Act of 2002" and "The R.E. Appraiser Rules of 2002" (IL).

Do you think the members of your appraisal board understand USPAP?

My Response: As to "understanding USPAP", this is why there are many members of the Board; I would expect that on certain issues, some members will have a better understanding than others. In the end, the collective wisdom is good.

Do you think you would receive a fair hearing if you were brought before your board??

My Response: Yes!