• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

ZoneAlarm vs. Win98SE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Smith

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
I am using ZoneAlarm 2.6.362 for my firewall. It has worked well as a firewall but... :(

Since installing it about a year ago Win98SE has had problems shutting down when I tell it to. I have determined that the shutdown problem is caused by ZoneAlarm.:idea:

If I close ZoneAlarm before saying good night to Win98SE then Win98SE quietly shuts itself down and turns itself off. Good night Chet - Good night David. :)

Is anyone else having this problem? Have you found any other solution :?:
 

David S. Roberson

Senior Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Tennessee
I don't know about Zone Alarm, but Chet & David? You're telling your age.
 

Dave Smith

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Yup :!: Met Chet once, in a Holiday Inn in Cedar Falls, IA.
 

David S. Roberson

Senior Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Tennessee
Never met Chet or David, but did have cocktails in New York with Walter Cronkite & BB King. No fooling!
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
I am using 2.6.357
Thanks for the info, I won't upgrade.
 

Ted Martin

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
You might try applying the Microsoft shut down patch. You can get it at the Microsoft update site. I'm running Zone Alarm 2.6.362 and Win98SE and not having any problems.
 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
'Course holding the 'on' button for five seconds will physically turn off the computer .. then you'll get the blue 'crab' screen on start-up most of the time, but that's just so typical WinDoze ..
 

Dave Smith

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Ted:

I have the shutdown patch and have applied it several times. That doesn't stop ZoneAlarm from interferring with normal shutdown however.

Until I find the real solution I just shut ZoneAlarm down first and then tell the computer goodby.
 

Ted Martin

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
How about uninstalling ZoneAlarma and then reinstalling it?
 

Dave Smith

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Been there, done that. Didn't make any difference.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks