• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Why Do You Need A Copy Of My License?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay Wolfson

Sophomore Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Arizona
I suppose its a pet-pev. My license is on every appraisal, right under my signature! Why lenders ask for a photo copy of a license is beyond me. When was the last time your asked your barber, car mechanic or doctor for a copy of their license. A photo copy can be altered as easily as the license numbers on the report. Seems they would want to check with the state to see if an appraiser is in good standing and that the name matches the number. Some things happen out of practice rather than reason, kind of like the mules at the Grand Canyon, one *** follows the rest just because..... I wish someone could explain it to me. Same thing with a resume. NO, I'm not applying for a job. I'm an incorporated service provider. AAARRRGGGHHH!

......do I feel beter now? No!
 

Mike Garrett RAA

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Colorado
You haven't looked in the barber shop recently...they must prominently display their license! I feel it is a big waste of time too but darn, they all want it so I do it. Why not make an attachment to every report that has a copy of your license, sure saves time and phone calls! We have a template for new customers that has as attachments the following:

License
E & O coverage certificate
W-9
Qualifications Sheet
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Thank you, this is one of my pet-pevs also, HOWEVER,
I just came across an appraisal a couple of weeks ago where the guy signing it as a "Certified/Supervisory" appraiser was actually an assistant appraiser. I suppose
he'd be willing to forge his license also, but it would at least make it harder for him to do, but I get the feeling that this is not why they ask for a copy of it. It's probably some stupid CYA policy they have, who knows why they do what they do..... :(
 

Charlotte Dixon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Delaware
It's just one of those things we're accustomed to. When they stop asking for that, they'll start asking for proof of your E & O. Then it gets worse, they ask for comps and addendums. When they ask for a copy of my license (even tho they have it) I'm overjoyed that it isn't something else they want. I can fax that real quick.
 

Mike Garrett RAA

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Colorado
Suggestion....make up a email with those items as attachments. Have it in draft folder in Outlook Express. Makes for real quick transmission without any long distance charge for the fax.

You can do the same thing with a qualifications packet. All the necessary junk including a work sample. All you need is an email address and it's done!

Darn, I am so smart...how come I ain't rich????
 

Mike Simpson

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
I asked this same question some months ago...it appears there are a lot of folks out there who've either let their license expire or who're posing as appraiser's--dummies--if I'm going to pose, I'm gonna be a Loan Officer.

Seriously, I had a guy--some years ago now--try and obtain a copy of my license under false pretenses. He'd let his license expire, had been conducting business for a year and a half without it, and someone had caught on. You can probably guess what he intended to do with my license.

So now I attach it with every appraisal...no questions asked.

-Mike
 

Restrain

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
I scanned my license in as a JPEG and attach it to any client that needs my license - generally smaller mortgage brokers. The big boys never need it.

Roger
 

Tim Hicks (Texas)

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
I have included a copy of my license in every report for over 10 years. I have it scanned as a jpg and use the "generic map" page in Wintotal. I just changed the heading to "Copy of State Certification" and saved it as the default field data. I did this to avoid the endless calls asking for a copy of the license. So, its my fault that they expect you all to do it. I really enjoy telling them when they call that they already have it. "look at page 9".
 

Elliott

Elite Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Oregon
Jay,
When we federalized appraising, the only thing that
was made important was the license. Licenses give
bureacrats a tremdous power, it makes appraisal
boards important. It helps the food chain who retire
early with gov't pensions.

Education, experience don't mean anything. It fulfills
Fannie's desire to reduce closing costs by having
lower cost appraisals. Believe it or not, there was a
time when there wasn't licensing and reputation meant
something.

elliott
 

Joshua Fookes

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2003
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
California
I thought they had to prove that the appraisal was done by a licensed appraiser in order for Fannie to buy the loan. It might be what the fannie people are trying to see before they purchase the loans?? I know they can look at the state board to verify numbers we type in, but this is a little more than a number. Granted they can be forged, etc. Oh, well, let them worry about that. It is just easier for me to put it in my skeleton appraisal and send it every time. Nobody has ever fired a report back saying, "What is this, that is too much info for me, knock this down a bit" ;)

Josh
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks